Panel Discussion

The Conversation Starts Here: A Virtual Event With Reddit’s Women Leaders

This event has ended. You can watch the recording here.
The Conversation Starts Here: A Virtual Event With Reddit’s Women Leaders
1 hours 9 minutes
Watch Now

Hosted by:

Reddit was nicknamed The Front Page of the Internet when it’s wide-reaching content covered the world’s most trending stories. The platform is composed of millions of communities (“subreddits”) devoted to a range of content, from vital to trivial. Three things remain the same across the platform: it’s authentic, honest, and proudly untamed.

It begs the question: how exactly did they do it? And what keeps redditors coming back for more? We had the exclusive opportunity to meet the women masterminds behind Reddit’s fame and success. We hosted an exciting virtual evening of tech talks, panel discussions, and a live Q&A session where Reddit’s leaders tackled attendees questions.

Agenda:

  • 5:00 PM ET / 2:00 PM PT - PowerToFly Kickoff
  • 5:05 PM ET / 2:05 PM PT - Keynote & Welcome Address from Afua Donkor, Sr. Human Resource Business Partner
  • 5:10 PM ET / 2:10 PM PT - Tech Talk by Roxy Young, VP of Marketing
  • 5:20 PM ET / 2:20 PM PT - Panel Discussion & Audience Q&A featuring women leaders from Reddit
    • Aylea Baldwin, Threat Intelligence Lead
    • Samantha Carow, Engineering Manager II
    • Diana Nam, Head of Brand Success West
    • Rebecca Rosenthal, Software Engineer III
  • 5:55 PM ET / 2:55 PM PT - Closing Remarks by PowerToFly
  • 6:00 PM ET / 3:00 PM PT - Optional Breakout Sessions Begin
  • 6:30 PM ET / 3:30 PM PT - Optional Breakout Sessions Conclude, Event Ends

It’s a household name to many, yet Reddit remains an oddly vague platform to countless people who recognize the site but have no understanding of its purpose. Sounds like you? Learn more on Reddit's PowerToFly page.

While you don’t have to be searching for a job to re-watch this event, Reddit is hiring and would love to connect with skilled professionals interested in joining the fifth most visited site in the USA (source: Alexa) with more than 430 million monthly active users and 21 billion screen views per month.

For such a fast-growing company that engages people from across the world, diversity is essential. Reddit is edgy, forward-thinking, and passionate about building a team that reflects its audience. Could you be the next great fit? Don’t miss out on this incredible opportunity to connect with Reddit’s leaders and get your foot in the door.

About PowerToFly: PowerToFly is a women-run startup that works with companies to identify skilled professionals they’d like to network with. Over the past two years, we’ve produced over two hundred virtual and in-person events across the world with brands like American Express, Microsoft, Deloitte, and Slack, which have resulted in countless hires. Visit http://powertofly.com to learn more.

About PowerToFly’s Events: All RSVP’d attendees are welcome, regardless of race, color, religion, national origin, gender identity, pregnancy, physical or mental disability, or age.

Meet The Speakers

Rebecca Rosenthal
Rebecca Rosenthal

I am an educator and musician turned software engineer who likes developing creative solutions to complicated problems.

Diana Nam
Diana Nam

Direct Sales, Account Management

Samantha Carow
Samantha Carow

I have 6+ years of industry experience, primarily as a product engineer, and more recently as an Engineering Manager of Reddit's front end infrastructure team. I enjoy working on projects that make life better for the engineers using our systems, and am very passionate about mentorship.

I've enjoyed speaking at the Women in Tech Summit (2019) & Grace Hopper Celebration (2019).

Aylea Baldwin
Aylea Baldwin

Experienced Director with a demonstrated history of working in the information technology and services industry.Skilled in Intelligence Analysis, and Computer Security.

Afua Donkor
Afua Donkor

People are my passion! I am always seeking to be the bridge that connects individual's needs and goals to those ofthe organization. My goal is to lead organizations through key people management skills, to create authenticinclusive cultures that foster engagement, talent development and retention.

Roxy Young
Roxy Young

“Full stack” consumer marketing executive who is passionate about building awareness, trial and repeat usage for products & services that make people's lives better. 15+ years of experience managing the “stack” of marketing channels including: competitive positioning, brand development, PR, acquisition, retention & social media. Outcome oriented leader with proven track record of using data & insights to develop strategies & tactics focused on delivering results.

Specialities include: consumer research, competitive analysis, brand management, marketing strategy, email marketing, direct mail, customer segmentation, SEM, mobile marketing, social media, analytics