Meet with Companies

Dating Turned Digital: Inside the Bumble Tech Organization

This event has ended. You can watch the recording here.
Virtual
Dating Turned Digital: Inside the Bumble Tech Organization
1 hours 28 minutes
Watch Now

Hosted by:

Get to know one of the first dating and connection apps built with women at the center!

Tune in for an inside look at what it means to be an engineer at Bumble. We dive into how they support two of the world’s biggest dating and connection apps with millions of customers worldwide, why you'll love their inclusive company culture, upcoming projects, and more.

You’ll…
  • Hear an honest, inside perspective on working at Bumble.
  • Gain career advice from industry leaders.

Agenda:
  • 12:00 PM BST / 7:00 AM ET - PowerToFly Kickoff
  • 12:05 PM BST / 7:05 AM ET - Welcome Address from Kelly Tran, Engineering and Product Relations Manager
  • 12:15 PM BST / 7:15 AM ET - Panel Discussion Featuring:
  • 1:00 PM BST / 8:00 AM ET - Audience Q+A
  • 1:25 PM BST / 8:25 AM ET - Closing Remarks from PowerToFly
  • 1:30 PM BST / 8:30 AM ET - Event Concludes

About Bumble: Bumble is the parent company that operates Badoo and Bumble, two of the world’s largest dating and connection apps with millions of customers globally. Their group mission is to create a world where all relationships are healthy and equitable. Bumble app was founded in 2014 by CEO Whitney Wolfe Herd, and they’re flipping traditional gender norms so that women have to make the first move. Bumble has facilitated over a billion women-led first moves and over fifteen billion messages sent.

About PowerToFly: PowerToFly is a women-run platform that works with companies to identify skilled professionals for networking and recruiting opportunities. Over the past few years, we’ve produced 1,000+ events across the world with brands like Facebook, Slack, Microsoft, and Deloitte, resulting in countless hires.

About PowerToFly’s Events: All RSVP’d attendees are welcome, regardless of race, color, religion, national origin, gender identity, pregnancy, physical or mental disability, or age. If you require assistance to fully participate in this event, please email hi@powertofly.com, and we will contact you to discuss your specific needs.

Meet The Speakers

Kelly Tran
Kelly Tran
Engineering and Product Relations Manager

Kelly has been with the Bumble team for over seven years. In her role as an Engineering & Product Relations Manager, she defines the strategy to grow the engineering and product teams in the UK and EMEA. She finds the tech industry inspiring and, for her, it is more than a job. She creates strong bonds with developers and fosters a supportive environment where they can help each other and feel like a family. Prior to Bumble, Kelly was a Europe Project Manager at BeMyApp.

Aideen Farrell
Aideen Farrell
Engineering Manager

Aideen joined Bumble about one year ago as a Senior Engineer Manager. Prior, she worked in technology at companies like Universitat Pompeu Fabra and Travelport. Some of her skills include corporate travel, resource management, agile & waterfall methodologies, consultancy, Innovation, application design and architecture, OTA optimisation, and bridging the gap between business and technical strategy.

Joana Estafanell
Joana Estafanell
Android Developer

Joana joined Bumble about a year ago as an Android Developer. In her role, she works on Video-gamification POD. This involves using video, games, and gamification mechanics to create meaningful shared experiences. Joana is in love with Kotlin and MVVM, high-quality products and readable code, and learning coroutines/ enjoying its simplification. Prior to Bumble, she was an Android Engineer at Xceed.

Laura Mitchell
Laura Mitchell
Data Scientist Lead

Laura has been with Bumble for six years, during which time she's grown from a Lead Data Scientist to a Data Science Manager. She has over 10 years of experience in the tech and data science space. Laura is also a published author in the field of Artificial Intelligence and have both hands-on and leadership experience in the delivery of projects using natural language processing, computer vision and recommender systems, from initial conception through to production.

Jerilyn Gonçalves
Jerilyn Gonçalves
iOS Developer

Jerilyn joined Bumble one year ago as an iOS Developer. She's been working as an iOS developer for over 6 years internationally. Her experience includes developing and testing iOS apps in Swift and Objective-C, following clean code design patterns. Prior to Bumble, Jerilyn was an iOS Developer at Gigigo Group.