Panel Discussion

Journey to Your Best Career: A Virtual Event with Expedia Group

This event has ended. You can watch the recording here.
Journey to Your Best Career: A Virtual Event with Expedia Group
1 hours 2 minutes
Watch Now

Hosted by:

PowerToFly was thrilled to present a virtual networking event with Expedia Group, a global travel platform that believes in the power of travel to break down barriers and bring the world within reach. Expedia Group represents the world’s most comprehensive selection of travel offerings and is among the largest technology companies in the world. You’ll meet a few of the company’s women leaders and gain insight into the travel industry, Expedia Group’s company culture, new job opportunities, career advice, and more.

This networking event was designed for technology and product professionals. We crafted a 90-minute packed session for you to form valuable connections and grow your career. Plus: Expedia Group is hiring.

This event took place on Tuesday, October 13th, from 6:00 PM - 7:30 PM CT (4:00 PM - 5:30 PM PT).

Agenda:

  • 6:00 PM CT / 4:00 PM PT - PowerToFly Kickoff
  • 6:05 PM CT / 4:05 PM PT - Welcome & Keynote Address from Andrea Pund, Director of Engineering
  • 6:20 PM CT / 4:20 PM PT - Panel Discussion Featuring:
    • Helen Bakker, Vice President of Technology
    • Mamtha Banerjee, Senior Director of Technology
    • Vivian Chan, Principal Software Developer
    • Zoe Yang, Senior Director of Data Science
  • 6:55 PM CT / 4:55 PM PT - Closing Remarks from PowerToFly
  • 7:00 PM CT / 5:00 PM PT - Breakout Sessions Begin
  • 7:30 PM CT / 5:30 PM PT - Event Concludes

About Expedia Group: Expedia Group helps knock down the barrier to travel, making it easier, more enjoyable, more attainable and more accessible. They help bring the world within reach for customers and partners around the globe. Their extensive brand portfolio includes some of the world’s most trusted online travel brands, powered by the most knowledgeable, passionate and creative people in the business. Their portfolio of brands includes Brand Expedia, Hotels.com, Expedia Partner Solutions, Egencia, trivago, Vrbo, Orbitz, Travelocity, and 9 others.

Expedia employees are entitled to 100% paid parental leave, wellness & fitness reimbursement, travel discounts & reimbursements, family and friends discounts, flexible work arrangements including remote opportunities, and more.

About PowerToFly: PowerToFly is a women-run startup that works with companies to identify skilled professionals they’d like to network with. Over the past few years, we’ve produced 300+ events across the world with brands like American Express, Microsoft, Deloitte, and Slack, which have resulted in countless hires. Visit http://powertofly.com to learn more.

About PowerToFly’s Events: All RSVP’d attendees are welcome, regardless of race, color, religion, national origin, gender identity, pregnancy, physical or mental disability, or age. If you require assistance to fully participate in this event, please email hi@powertofly.com, and we will contact you to discuss your specific needs.

Meet The Speakers

Vivian Chan
Vivian Chan

Vivian Chan is a Principal Software Developer at Expedia Group. She's been with the company since October of 2019, working to drive technical vision and directions of Expedia Travel Activities, leading engineers to architect platform solutions that accelerate business growth, coaching engineers on best practices and design principles, and collaborating with Expedia Architecture team to integrate and implement company-wide initiatives in the Activity tech stack.

Helen Bakker
Helen Bakker

Helen Bakker is the Vice President of Technology at Expedia Group. She has been with the company for 16+ years, growing from a Senior Program Manager to a Director of Corporate IT Release & Operations, Director of Expedia Worldwide Engineering, Senior Director of Expedia Worldwide Engineering, and now her current position. Prior, she was a Manager with Accenture.

Mamtha Banerjee
Mamtha Banerjee

Mamtha Banerjee is a Senior Director of Technology at Expedia Group. She's been with the company since August of 2015. Currently, Mamtha leads core applications and services for an intelligent conversation platform supporting millions of conversations. She has extensive experience in large scale distributed systems, lean methodologies, architecture, SaaS platforms, and cloud services.

Zoe Yang
Zoe Yang

Zoe Yang is a Senior Director of Data Science and Engineering at Expedia Group. She has been with the company since June of 2020 and prior worked as the Director of Data Science & Product at Capital One. Zoe is accountable for data science intelligence, machine learning platform, and product analytics capabilities.

Andrea Pund
Andrea Pund

Andrea Pund is the Director of Engineering at Expedia Group. She's been with the company since May of 2013 during which time she grew from a Technical Product Manager into a Director of Engineering at Vrbo, a subsidiary of Expedia Group, and now a Director of Engineering at Expedia Group. Andrea is passionate about collaboration, developing individuals and teams, solving challenging problems, and promoting a growth mindset.