Meet with Companies

Technology Uniting the World: A Virtual Event with Facebook

This event has ended. You can watch the recording here.
Virtual
Technology Uniting the World: A Virtual Event with Facebook
58 minutes
Watch Now

Hosted by:

Facebook and PowerToFly recently joined forces for an invite-only virtual networking event. Watch this behind-the-scenes look at Facebook’s groundbreaking work featuring a keynote address, lightning talks, a panel discussion, and an audience Q&A with the company’s women leaders.

Facebook has redefined how we use technology to engage with one another, consume news, and spread entertainment. They expanded their reach (including Instagram, WhatsApp, Messenger, Augmented & Virtual Reality, and Facebook Connectivity) by not shying away from tall orders. Curious as to how they got where they are, what’s up next, or how you can join the fun? This event is for you.

This virtual event took place on Tuesday, September 22nd from 3:00 PM - 4:30 PM EST (12:00 PM - 1:30 PM PST).

AGENDA

  • 3:00 PM EST / 12:00 PM PST - PowerToFly Kickoff
  • 3:05 PM EST / 12:05 PM PST - Keynote and Welcome Address from Madison Shea McMahan, Event Marketer
  • 3:10 PM EST / 12:10 PM PST - Lighting Talk #1, Designers & Engineers: Better Together
    • Caitlyn McCarthy, UX Product Design Manager
    • Aish Rajagopal, Software Engineering Manager
  • 3:25 PM EST / 12:25 PM PST - Audience Q&A
  • 3:33 PM EST / 12:33 PM PST - Lighting Talk #2, Women Create: Empowering Self-Advocacy Panel
    • Grace Pehl, Data Scientist
    • Katy Shi, Software Engineer
    • Michelle Yin, Software Engineer
  • 3:48 PM EST / 12:48 PM PST - Audience Q&A
  • 3:55 PM EST / 12:55 PM PST - Panel Discussion & Audience Q&A Featuring Women Tech Leaders at Facebook
  • 4:25 PM EST / 1:25 PM PST - Closing Remarks from PowerToFly
  • 4:30 PM EST 1:30 PM PST - Event Concludes

Facebook has connected more than 3 billion people with 4 billion more to go. To bring the world closer together, Facebook is searching for talented individuals to join the team. We encourage you to explore these job opportunities.

The company is now posting US-based remote technical positions and will continue to add more over time. In addition to work flexibility, Facebook offers comprehensive health insurance and holistic wellness programs, comprehensive family support programs, competitive retirement plans, equity awards, a 30-day paid break every five years, and more.

About PowerToFly’s Events: All RSVP’d attendees are welcome, regardless of race, color, religion, national origin, gender identity, pregnancy, physical or mental disability, or age. If you require accommodation to fully participate in this event, please email hi@powertofly.com, and we will contact you to discuss your specific needs.


Meet The Speakers

Caitlyn McCarthy
Caitlyn McCarthy
UX Product Design Manager

Caitlyn is a UX Product Design Manager at Facebook. She's been with the company since March of 2017, starting as a Product Designer and moving into her current role. On the side, she is a Freelance Designer with client such as Modern Fertility, 23andMe, Pager, Bonobos, JewelMint, Avon, Chloe + Isabel, and Beauty Army.

Michelle Yin
Michelle Yin
Software Engineer

Michelle is a Software Engineer at Facebook. Prior, she was building mobile payments for the iOS platform at WhatsApp, Inc. She holds a Bachelors Degree in Computer Science and Business Administration from the University of Southern California.

Grace Pehl
Grace Pehl
Data Scientist

Grace is a Data Scientist at Facebook. She has been with the company since April of 2018. As an enterprise data scientist, her specialty is answering questions to figure things out. Collaboration is her favorite part of the job. She loves to iterate with partners across the organization to develop actionable insights from data.

Madison Shea McMahan
Madison Shea McMahan
Event Marketer

Madison Shea McMahan is an Event Marketer and Women@ Co-Lead at Facebook.

Aish Rajagopal
Aish Rajagopal
Software Engineering Manager

Aish Rajagopal is a Software Engineering Manager at Facebook. She's been with the company since January of 2016. Prior, Aish worked with the Georgia Institute of Technology where she received her Master of Computer Science.

Katy Shi
Katy Shi
Software Engineer

Katy Shi is a Software Engineer with Instagram, part of the Facebook family. She started her career with Facebook back in August 2018 and transitioned to the Instagram team in September of 2019.